Skibereen postcards and Julia’s journey

These postcards are some of the few items that Julia Hayes brought with her from Ireland on her journey to the United States as a young woman. She would never see her homeland or her family that stayed again, although some of her sisters also emigrated to Massachusetts. Julia was the daughter of Timothy Hayes and Mary O’Leary, and they lived in Glandore, County Cork Ireland. Timothy Hayes was a fisherman. On the O’Leary side from Kinsale, some of the relatives worked at the Galley Head Lighthouse.

Townshend Street, Skibbereen.

Pro Cathedral and Provincial Bank Skibbereen.

Tragumina, Skibbereen.

A photograph of Ellen “Nellie” Hayes and Julia Hayes

Below is a passenger list of the S.S. Canada from September 1899. Julia Hayes, age 19, was a passenger, and last residence was listed as Rosscarbery. The relative she was going to join was her sister Nellie Hayes living in Dorchester, MA. Another passenger, Ann Ryan, 22, was going to Hingham, MA. One must wonder if Julia heard about Hingham from Ann during their long journey, as that later became her home.

Source Information: Ancestry.com. Boston Passenger Lists, 1820-1943 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations, Inc., 2006.Original data: Boston, Massachusetts. Passenger Lists of Vessels Arriving at Boston, Massachusetts, 1891-1943. Micropublication T843. RG085. 454 rolls. National Archives, Washington, D.C.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Erik on April 7, 2010 at 2:47 am

    hi

    I am doing my family history and my mother’s uncle is Joseph Dennehy who Married to Cecella Wilson and they lived in Hingham. I under stand that there was a relation to Daniel Connell who lived on Thaxter St he’s my Great Grandfather if you have any info on the Connell family and Quinn family can you sent it to me

    thanks

    Erik D. Holler

    Reply

  2. Hi Erik,
    Thanks for contacting me. My great-uncle was Joe Dennehy, and he was the son of Daniel Dennehy and Julia Hayes. I remember Joe and Celia very well, they were wonderful folks. My grandmother was his sister Mary and I was very close to my great aunt Alice his younger sister.

    Early on there was a connection with the Cronin family on Thaxter St. Daniel Dennehy lived with the Cronins on the 1900 Census, and after a quick look I found the Connells on the next page and they both worked for the railroad. I will ask my Dad and aunt if they remember anything about the Connells.

    thanks,
    - Beth Halbrooks

    Reply

    • Posted by Erik Holler on January 4, 2011 at 5:39 pm

      Thank you so munch for the info. did you know that Daniel Connell was Daniel F. Dennehy’s Godfather and he related to to your family

      Erik D. Holler

      Reply

      • Hi Erik,
        Thanks for your comment! I was not aware of a connection to the Connell family but am very interested in learning more, if there is anything you can share to point me in the right direction please let me know. Thanks again, Beth Halbrooks

  3. Posted by Pam on May 10, 2010 at 1:30 am

    Hi,

    I just came across your blog and these wonderful postcards. I am doing research on Kearney ancestors in Skibbereen in the 1890′s. Many were baptised at the Pro Cathedral. Also one, Patrick Kearney, was a horse car driver and he drove between Eldon Hotel in Skibbereen and Tragumina. I guess he may have been taking people to the beach.

    Would it be possible to get scanned images of the postcards? Pictures are so hard to come by and they really make genealogy stories come alive.

    Pam

    Reply

  4. Hi Pam,
    That is very interesting to hear about your family connection to Skibbereen! I agree the pictures help bring the stories of our ancestors to life. I would be happy to try to scan these in at a higher quality resolution more appropriate for printing. What is your e-mail address?

    Thanks!,
    Beth

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

